All Topics / Help Needed! / Experience with student accom?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of ArtaudArtaud
    Participant
    @artaud

Hello.

I’ve got a lead on a property near a major East Coast university with potential and I’m giving serious consideration to buying it. It’s a new reno job (existing structure stripped back to timber and then re-built from there) custom built for student accom with lockable bedrooms, internet ports and built-in desks in every room, 1 bathroom per 3 bedrooms and an open plan common living area. It’s partly furnished.

I’ve had some experience with IPs and development but this one is a bit oddball.

My questions are:
    Has anyone out there had experience with owning tailored student accommodation? I’m wondering specifically about lease structures, unusual costs (ie. Internet access, common area cleaning etc) and, most importanly, vacancy periods. Also, if each room is let separately are there generally zoning issues?

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,
    Art

‘Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.’ – Albert Einstein

Profile photo of elkamelkam
    @elkam

Hello Artaud

I don’t own such a property but I know someone who does. Since no one has answered so far I will tell you the little I know. [smiling]

As you say unusual costs include internet and common area cleaning but also electricity, water and gas. The person I know supplies cleaning products (dishwashing liquids etc) and such things as toilet paper etc as it costs relatively little and saves a lot of hassles between the occupents. This all has to be factored into the rent and the utilities need careful monitoring to make sure they stay reasonable.

I believe you should check with the relevant coucil to see how many occupants your allowed to have per house before it’s classified as a boarding house. I think you want to stay under this as this brings on a whole new set of rules and regulations I believe.