All Topics / Help Needed! / Raising a deposit

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of richard1984richard1984
    @richard1984

Hi everybody, im a first time poster and I am fairly new to property investing but having read steves book (130 properties) and a monthly subscriber to API I am quite enthusiastic about ascertaining as much property as possible. I have bought a property about 2 months ago which is negatively geared, and although I am quite happy with it I am sure I never want to buy another negatively geared property again lol. Any ideas from forum members on tips to raising a deposit as quickly as possible? I want to buy property fairly soon and capitalise on this shortage of rental properties and an abundance of rentors.

Profile photo of carolinehalecarolinehale
    Participant
    @carolinehale

Hi,
    I am a new investor too. Do you have any equity in the property you owe? Maybe get a valuation that you can use to borrow from. Otherwise I think the answer is just hard slog saving. You could sink it into shares to move it along. Anything in Asia seems to be going great guns right now. But that of course is taking a punt. If you want something safer – blue chip shares or term deposits. Or buy a lotto ticket?! It is amazing how quickly the funds build up. If you can get a long settlement then you can save the rest whilst waiting for the property to settle. Hope that gives you a few ideas.
    Cheers
    Caroline[exhappy]

Profile photo of beachesboybeachesboy
    Participant
    @beachesboy

Hi richard1984,