All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing with family

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of drec0007drec0007
    @drec0007

Hi all,

My husband and I have been thinking about buying an investment property for awhile now, but haven’t found what we are looking for as yet.

My brother has come to us to ask whether we would be interested in buying an investment property with him. What sort of things should we look out for/arrange prior when buying in partnership with someone else?

I’m brand new at this so any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks, Pippa

Profile photo of HousemenderHousemender
    @housemender

This is something we’ve often considered but always ruled out, due to the concern that family relations could be affected in a bad way. I think that with property investment there is a real likelihood of differing opinions and this could cause some tension between family members.

Just my opinion – saying that, I’m sure there are loads of people out there who have success stories of investing with families.[biggrin]

Profile photo of drec0007drec0007
    @drec0007

Thanks Homemender, That’s one of the reasons I am trying to get as much info as possible before syaing yay or nay!

Profile photo of DazzlingDazzling
    @dazzling

Hello drec0007 / Pippa,

This sounds very very familar [hmmm]……could you be a little bit more specific….

1. What exactly is your brother proposing ??
    2. What type of ownership arrangement is being considered ??
    3. What type of property is being considered ??
    4. What can you bring to the table in terms of strengths…..surely you have something to offer otherwise why would he ask you to join him ??
    5. When you say “look out for”….do you mean bad things your brother can do to you and your husband or do you mean good things to look out for to enhance any arrangement you may make.