All Topics / Value Adding / Council Development Guidelines

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of sparky01sparky01
    @sparky01

Hi all,

I have been doing some research with the local Council in an area of Queensland where I am thinking of staging my first small scale development.

(Please note that I am still learning the process and wont be starting anything for at least another 6 months while i gain more knoledge networking.)

Upon reading the “Development Design Planning Scheme Policy” (ie, councils guidelines for development applications 200+ pages)for that particular council i was overwhelmed with all the various considerations that they take into account when approving DA.

Is this the job of the Architecht to design the DA (Enviromental Assesment reports, Plans and Drawings) in accordance with these guidelines?

I mean now that i have read it i have a very general scope of what the council wants but is that good enough?

Also dose an Architecht work with any other people to get the DA done and if so, who? Do i need to arrange these people or is it generally included as part of their service.

I guess my main question is What is the job of the Architech in getting a concept from me through to the end result of DA approval?

Thanks allot for any answers [cap]

Profile photo of tonyy21692tonyy21692
    @tonyy21692

Sparky

An architect is a just like a hammer in your toolbox. Along with a surveyor, town planner, drafts person, consulting engineer (hydrolic, structural ect), landscape architect and the list goes on.

In engaging an architect they ought to be able to pull a team together to assist you in achieving your vision. Of course they can then complete the construction drawings, put it out to tender and then supervise the job to completion. It all comes at a cost, usually % based.