All Topics / Help Needed! / Commercial Investment Property – Hotel Room

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of tbsuper2tbsuper2
    @tbsuper2

We recently purchased a hotel room (which returns a positive cash flow) using equity in other investment properties

The unfortunate mistake we have made is that it is restricting our borrowing capacity as the Banks will not take security over properties which are less than 50 square metres in area.

As such, we are now condidering selling this investment. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Tb

Profile photo of AlwayzLearninAlwayzLearnin
    Participant
    @alwayzlearnin

Hi tbsuper1,

I am no expert on this matter, but I thought cross-Collateralizing like that was generally not an advised structure as it complicates things. My understanding of that structure is if you lose one place you can lose them all.

From what I have picked up on the forums, it is the prefered method to use the equity in a property to get a LOC and then use that as a deposit to fund the next purchase.

As I said, I am no expert so please correct me if I am wrong.

Profile photo of Dave LDave L
    @dave-l

Tb

I believe some banks will give a 60% LVR on property under 50m2 they certainly did with me and I was able to take a seperate loan from equity in principal place of residence therefor having no cross collateralization as there was three seperate loans.

Dave

Profile photo of MortgagemanMortgageman
    Participant
    @mortgageman

Hi tbsuper,

It is possible to get finance on properties below 50sqm as long as the hotel is under 10 storeys and the unit is above 37sqm. There are lenders that will go as high as 95% on serviced apartments (but on higher rates that kill the yield). As Davel said you could get a 60% lend from a bank at a reasonable rate.

Kind Regards,

Cameron Perry
    Finance Director
    Perry Financial Strategies
    Level 13, 30 Collins St
    Melbourne VIC 3000
    Ph (03) 9662 1999