All Topics / Help Needed! / How to negotiate?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of Barts78Barts78
    Participant
    @barts78

Hello everyone.

Can i please get some tips on how to negotiate with agents? I’m new to the game and find that they are treading all over me when it comes to getting their lowest price.

For example, lets say the offer price is $120 – 139 000.

You do your research and crunch the numbers with the following details:

Sale price: 155 000
    Reno: (10 000)
    Acquisition/sale: (12000)
    Profit: (15 000)
    Other: (3 000)

Offer: $115 000

Your aim is to buy, reno and re-sell in 12 – 18 months

You put in your offer and the agent comes back saying ”we presented the offer but they won’t accept it……..we would need an offer in the range as advertised” That’s if they presented the offer.

So you sit back and think…’’how do I come back on this??’’

Investor’s advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks heaps.

Rich

Profile photo of Don NicolussiDon Nicolussi
    Participant
    @don

HI Rich,

Put the offer in writting
    ask the agent to present
    response
    move on or do the deal

It is a difficult question because in my opinion real estate investing is about people. relationships/communication etc etc. How to negotiate with a person depends on who the person is and to make it worse you are doing it through a third party which really makes it even harder to answer.

you may have a very young inexperieced agent who has just been sent out to get listings and sign people to exclusive contracts. he may have promised the vendors a price in order to get that listing and if it is early days he probably won’t be presenting you offer (sorry if that offends but they just wont tell you about it). Unless they are using your number to condition the vendor down to a more realistic price.