All Topics / Help Needed! / Opinions sought – Cairns Northern Beaches

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of nevillegnevilleg
    @nevilleg

Hi, I am a newbie considering taking the plunge with first IP in the Cairns Northern Beaches area (possibly Clifton Beach), and would like to seek opinions on the following:
    – a reasonable price for a 3-bedroom 2-bathroom townhouse
    – Expected rent for such a property
    – capital growth prospects

– Since I’m from Melbourne, any responses from Cairns locals would be greatly appreciated.. Thx…

Profile photo of GelFGelF
    @gelf

Why Cairns in particular?

Some of the most spectacular environment in Australia = some of the most expensive property. (It’s been years since I’ve been up that way though)

Not that there is anything wrong with that it just depends upon what you are trying to do with the investment.

I would have thought ther’d be many opportunities within a stones throw of where you are now (where you could, given that this is your first IP, keep a closer eye on them).

Money doesn’t care where it’s invested.

Profile photo of zenqzenq
    @zenq

Greetings,
    I have lived in Cairns for five years and own two properties here. By most accounts Cairns is one of the most promising cities on the East coast for property investment, with a large growth predicted for the next 20 years. It is certainly a great place to live, work and play, if you can handle the heat and wet season. A lot of locals steer a bit clear of the Northern beaches, but this is the favoured area for tourists and out of town investors.