All Topics / Value Adding / What can go wrong?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of wazlwazl
    @wazl

Any help on my potential development venture is much appreciated.

I am new to property development, but have come accross a property in QLD that looks good for dual occupancy. Am in negotiating stage, there bottom line figure is a little more than average for the area, though it is a larger than average block. There is one house on the land, with room at the side for another. The block is too small to sub-divide though a good size for dual occ.

In theory, this “unused” land at the side is almost for “free”, minus fees to council, draftsman, water, builder etc. etc.

Anyway have done some rough numbers, and by, maybe, adding a re located house the propects seem borderline to fair in achieving +ve CF situation. (I’m far from being an accountant)

My question is this:

These are the basic requirements for a basic (first) development where value adding to ther property can make a poitive cash flow situation, are they not? So I should just go ahead and buy it, right? (the price is about 10 -18% higher than average size blocks in the area)

What can go wrong?

Cheers

Profile photo of MichaelYardneyMichaelYardney
    Participant
    @michaelyardney

What can go wrong?

Great question, so let me give you a list

Firstly may I say I know where you are coming from. With little upside in the general property markets for the foreseeable future, I see many investors looking at property development as a possible way of increasing their profits.

Property development has recently been made popular by a number of seminars or workshops which suggest property development is lucrative and easy.