All Topics / Value Adding / Strata Title – Can you sell existing houses?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of chpropdevchpropdev
    Participant
    @chpropdev

Hi,

I have two adjoining blocks of land, each of which have a house on them. I want to build a further three units on the two blocks. They will then be strat titled.

My question is this (and bear with me if the answer is obvious as I have never done this before!): I would like to sell the two existing house before developing the block. I was initially told that this couldn’t be done and that I would have to hang on to the two original houses until the strata title was issued after the three units were built.

However, I have also been told, by the building designer, that it is possible if the existing houses have separate driveways to the units to split the houses out (onto seperate titles, I assume) – and therefore be able to sell them now.

Basically, I would like to (a) use the funds from the sale to finance the units and (b) I don’t particularly want tenants in two newly rennovated properties for a year. Being able to sell them now would solve this.

Also, who would know the answer to this question – a solicitor or a surveyor?

I would be really grafteful for any advice.

Best regards

Andy

Profile photo of fernfurnfernfurn
    @fernfurn

It sounds possible to me. My drafting guy (very experienced with the Council I deal with) told me that once approval to build has been issued, subdivision is issued as a matter of course. Speak to a surveyor too. I have built a new townhouse behind an old house and it all went as above. I wouldnt be telling the prospective house purchasers that you will be building as the construction noise, trucks etc. might put some people off

Fern

Profile photo of MichaelYardneyMichaelYardney
    Participant
    @michaelyardney
    Originally posted by fernfurn: