All Topics / Finance / Student Accommodation using Vendor Terms

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Theo PTheo P
    @theo-p

Hi Everyone, I am new to this but I sure would appreciate some help.
    I am purchasing a student accomodation apartment in Carlton of 21.5 sqm, using vendor terms. (Property Value of $184,000 and rental income of $1,166.67)

The vendor has agreed to 50% payable in 30 days and the balance of the lumpsum in 5 years. (The agreed rate of 6.7 % interest only – payable monthly in arrears).

Total borrowings required including Stamp Duty, Legal & borrowing costs of $108,165 LVR is 58.75%

Assets: I dont own a house, but I have another investment apartment, with a secure tenant, in Melbourne CBD. Market Value $305,000

Income: Personal exertion $50,000 p.a.
    Rental Income $1,235.00 per mth = $14,820 p.a.

Liabilities: $2841.41 (include credit card)

I have just been advised by the National Bank that they no longer lend against Student Accommodation. It is hard to find a lender who understands borrowing using vendor terms, let alone to lend against such a small property.

Any suggestions as to a lender who can help?

Theo

Profile photo of learnsharelearnshare
    @learnshare

Hi Theo,

a student accomodation with 21.5 m2. Looks like a tough one. How much is the mortgae balance on your current rental property? I beleive you could use it as an additional security. Who was your current lender? Perhaps Mortgage Hunter or Mobile Mortgage Market can lend you a hand with your case.

herman

Profile photo of brahmsbrahms
    Participant
    @brahms

CRIKEY… $270/wk for 21.5sqm

they must really stack the students in for this sort of $$$$!

are you sure that you are not being touched in a big way??

cheers

brahms
    Purveyor of Fine Finances
    aka Mortgage Broker Brisbane

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Hi Theo,