All Topics / Help Needed! / I just dont get it, how is it possible

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of ganakarsganakars
    @ganakars

Call me stupid but I just don’t get it!!!

All these seminars that I go to all explain how easy it is to invest even if you don’t have any money for a deposit and yet still create positive cash flow

Im struggling to get my head around how purchasing a property in Perth it is possible to create positive cash flow on 1 income. Im a professional worker earning 60k pa

My scenario is this

I live alone, have purchased my current house for 275K, have an outstanding mortgage loan of 190k and have around 10k in savings.

The basic average villa or house around Perth is around the 250k mark. If I borrow the full amount for a average property of around 250k at the current interest rate of around 6.75% then the weekly repayments will sit around the $400.00 per week mark. You would not be able to rent a 250K property for this amount, maybe $250.00 at the most, hence having to put money into it and creating a negative geared property (not what I want to do).

The other option is to borrow against my own property however this will increase my own mortgage repayments by a few hundred bucks as well.

I don’t understand how it is possible to create a positive cash flow from property when the housing prices are as high as they are with the rental return not coming close.

Im thinking that shares are my best option.

Im reading Steve Mcknights first book but it seems that (so far into the book) that all the properties are very very cheap and the rental returns are average in todays market

Can someone give me a more simplistic opinion.

Profile photo of blogsblogs
    Participant
    @blogs

Dont you think all these property gurus would be out buying property instead of making money out of you poor smucks if it was as easy as what they lead you to believe???

Profile photo of debbraddebbrad
    Participant
    @debbrad