All Topics / Help Needed! / Spec builder needs advice

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of PeteJackiePeteJackie
    Participant
    @petejackie

Hi Everyone,

I’m a registered builder and have built a couple of Spec homes in the past preferring not to advertise them until they were completed.
    I have someone wanting to buy my next house off the plan. Am I better off selling him the block at market value then building the house for him? More like a traditional builder/ client relationship.
    Or would it be better to keep it all in my name until finished? If I take this option can I still claim progress payments in the normal way.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

Profile photo of jparsonsjparsons
    @jparsons

Pete,

Good idea to let everyone know where abouts you are, could make a difference to opinions. Just helping out…..

Jarrod.

http://www.jenterprisegroup.com.au
    data-security-communications-entertainment systems<- home networking and home theatres- talk to me first!!
    *Technology Consultants*
    Brisbane.Gold coast.Sunshine coast

Profile photo of PeteJackiePeteJackie
    Participant
    @petejackie

Thanks Jarrod,

I’m in Hobart

Profile photo of MichaelYardneyMichaelYardney
    Participant
    @michaelyardney
    Originally posted by Pete&Jackie:

Hi Everyone,

I’m a registered builder and have built a couple of Spec homes in the past preferring not to advertise them until they were completed.
    I have someone wanting to buy my next house off the plan. Am I better off selling him the block at market value then building the house for him? More like a traditional builder/ client relationship.
    Or would it be better to keep it all in my name until finished? If I take this option can I still claim progress payments in the normal way.

Thanks in advance,

Pete