All Topics / Creative Investing / Investment advice sought

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of NicolaWNicolaW
    @nicolaw

Hi,

I have just joined this site and would like some advice on an idea I have for investing in a unit. I am very new to all of this, so please forgive me if I sound a little out of my depth as to what I am trying to convey!

I am considering investing in a managed unit as part of a resort. The unit is on sale for $420,000 however I feel I could offer $385,000 and they would accept as it has been on the market for a while. The resort is in a very popular tourist place and the real estate has told me that they average occupancy is around 80% per year. I would receive worst case $1200 a week for rent for say 40 weeks of the year (best case $2200 per week in high season). We currently have $100,000 in equity in our own property which we live in, therefore I would like to use some of this to secure a loan for the unit. I have worked out that mgt and body corporate fees would be approx. 30% of the rent I receive and still I am ahead for the year. I guess I just want to ask if anyone has gotten into this type of investment before and whether I am looking at something that is a big risk or something that will give me positive cashflow straight away. The real estate told me that the unit will return 4% per year (going on last years figures, which I didn’t think was much??) however capital gains will improve and the area it is in, it is hard to see how it would not increas. (however I know this is not definate). Any advice would be very much appreciated. I hope I haven’t missed anything out to paint the whole picture? Thankyou [biggrin]

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Nicola

Unfortunately due the nature of the forum I am unable to provide you with advice but hope i can offer a few suggestions.