All Topics / Help Needed! / What sort of town do I need?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of Jase and FlicJase and Flic
    Participant
    @jase-and-flic

Hi all.
    First post. Excitement. Yay.
    I am a carpenter and I want to start doing some basic renos. I will probably try to sell quickly for the first few to build up capital. I will also probly be looking at lower end properties to start with.
    My question(s)are:
    What sort of market conditions should I look for when researching an area to buy in?
    Do rental vacancies have much relevance to a buy-reno-sell strategy?
    Does this strategy still work in a flat market?
    Is it OK to use this strategy with low end properties, or shoul I focus on median houses to have greater chance of selling?
    Also, any tips on what sort of renos add more percieved than actual value would be great.

Many thanks in advance
    dougiejg

Profile photo of Brenda IrwinBrenda Irwin
    Participant
    @brenda-irwin
    Originally posted by Dougiejg:

Hi all.
    First post. Excitement. Yay.
    I am a carpenter and I want to start doing some basic renos. I will probably try to sell quickly for the first few to build up capital. I will also probly be looking at lower end properties to start with.
    My question(s)are:
    What sort of market conditions should I look for when researching an area to buy in?
    Do rental vacancies have much relevance to a buy-reno-sell strategy?
    Does this strategy still work in a flat market?
    Is it OK to use this strategy with low end properties, or shoul I focus on median houses to have greater chance of selling?
    Also, any tips on what sort of renos add more percieved than actual value would be great.

Many thanks in advance
    dougiejg

Hi dougie, I saw your post at renos.com but was too lazy to post. Seeing it again here shows you are genuine in looking for help.