All Topics / Help Needed! / What to do?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Grant209Grant209
    @grant209

What to do?

Hi all,

I am 34yrs old. For the past 10 years I have been the sole income earner for my family with my wife has been a stay at home mother up till 2004 when both of our children where finally at school age. My wife for the past two years has been undertaking TAFE studies to return to the workforce that we hope will be at the end of 2005.

With our family being on a single income, we have not generated any savings that could be counted towards a deposit. Personally, I believe the Sydney House Market has out priced us from buying a home in Sydney, where I work as a Permanent Firefighter with the NSW Fire Brigade.

I see our last chance of owning a house would be to buy a house through the Defence Housing Authority (Aust) in the Newcastle region. With the lease back arrangement that the DHA has in place and negative gearing, we are thinking we would be able to move into the house at the completion of the lease back period, some 9 – 12 years down the track, about the same time it would take me to transfer to the Newcastle region.

Does this sound like a worthwhile plan? The main concern I have is Renting while paying off the loan. A work college has done the same as I am thinking, he & his wife brought a DHA property for around the $380,000 mark 3 years ago and with negative gearing and the rental income, they pay around $80 towards the loan per fortnight, does this sound right?

If so, I was hoping to get some kind of guidance or information on what our options would be for Finance and what the finance would cover, fee’s etc; and what we would need in place to improve our chances of gaining finance based on a property of around the $380,000 mark.

Otherwise, would it just be easier to buy a new Car!

Regards

Grant Quinlan
    Ph: 0408 209018

Grant
    Ph:0408 209018

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage