All Topics / Help Needed! / Houses in ouyen

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of cama20cama20
    Participant
    @cama20

Hi guys. I am just starting out in the property game and am a bit nerves. I have been looking at houses in the 50k to 80k mark in Victoria and have found a lot in Ouyen. I am abit worried that this is not a good place to start. Does anyone have any opinions that they can share or any other areas in Victoria that they could recommend?

Profile photo of depreciatordepreciator
    @depreciator

Best idea to get a considered response may be to give a bit more info.
    Where is Ouyen?
    How big is it?
    Is it a single industry town?
    How has the population (number and demographic) changed over the last few years?
    etc, etc.
    Of course the obvious question is why are there so many houses at that price available in that town? Who is bailing?
    In other words, why does this town stack up for you?
    If you’ve just searched for: ‘Properties in Vic between $50K and $80K’, you’re punting.
    When I have bought regional properties, I have looked for towns that appear sound and then looked for properties within those towns.
    But this is just the way I do things.
    Scott

Tax Depreciation Schedules
    Australia wide service
    1300 660033
    [email protected]
    http://www.depreciator.com.au

Profile photo of Fast LaneFast Lane
    @fast-lane

Ouyen is often the hottest place in Victoria. It’s always on the weather as the top today was 38 degrees at Ouyen.
    Houses priced at 50-80k are priced at this much for a reason. If you decide to go head make sure you know what you’re doing. Investing in small rural towns like these require their own set of skills and due-diligences.

Good Luck…G7

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi Cama