All Topics / Help Needed! / Steve’s “The 11 second rule” – how does it works?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of Lily KLily K
    @lily-k

I am interesting to apply Steve’s rule to my this year IP, but I still not sure how to use it. According to the rule = (weekly rent/2) x 1,000

For example: Weekly rent is $300, The property prices using 11 rule is $150,000.00. Therefore, if the property worth $350,000.00, means it is impossible to produce a positive cash flow return. is this right?

In that case, it is impossible to be able to find any property esp in queensland with positive cash flow return based on this rule.

Can anyone explain because I am really new to IP? How this rule really apply in real life? Every property seems so expensive to me, there is nothing below $150,000.00 esp in gold coast. Is there any other method I can determine the IP is positive cash flow before I really invest?

[email protected]

Profile photo of neo25x5neo25x5
    @neo25x5

the `11 second rule’ is ONLY a guide. if you’ve got “From 0 to 130 Properties…..” re-read page 34 again. It will explain everything.

Profile photo of Fast LaneFast Lane
    @fast-lane

A method I use to determine positive cashflow is I take the first 3 numbers of a house’s selling price and then double it. That’s what the house has to achieve in weekly rent to be positive cashflow. Here’s a few examples;

House for sale at $100 000, take the first 3 numbers, 100, double them = 200, therefore the weekly rent must be $200 for positive cashflow.

House $85 000, rent must be $170
    House $230 000, rent must be $460
    House $735 000, rent must be $1470

This method works out very similar to the 11 second solution and can be quite useful for quick calculaions in your head. But as neo25x5 said these are only guides and should be treated as such.

Hope this helps…G7

Profile photo of Lily KLily K
    @lily-k

Thank you so much for this: