All Topics / Help Needed! / Dual Occupancy

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of BellacrestBellacrest
    Participant
    @bellacrest

Hi!
    Looking at buying a 4 bedroom house and converting it into 2x 2 bedroom dual occupancy house. Just wondering in regards to electricity and water/ sewrage do I need to split these into two? Does it depend on local council? If anyone else has done this what did you do?

Profile photo of eesholeeeshole
    @eeshole

I believe to do this you might have to strata title the property, or subdivide it.

I’m not an expert on this subject, though.

Profile photo of eesholeeeshole
    @eeshole

Or you could leave it as is – I think you can still rent it out as 2 dwellings – you’ll just need to find a way to apportion the electricity & water between the 2 tenants. Perhaps charge a set monthly fee for these from each of the tenants and pay the bills yourself.

A good property manager should be able to advise you on this.

Profile photo of enduserenduser
    @enduser

Systems vary state to state etc. In Victoria a second dwelling is allowed in some Res 1 Zones, look at the planning scheme maps to find out. The Overlays are the critical documents.

The you have Rescode and requirements for outside living space, sunlight etc.

You apply for a Development Permit and if you get it you can build a second dwelling on site, or demolish and build two.

At that stage it is still ONE property and can only be sold as a whole.

You also need to subdivide, either strata or separate freehold titles. Another Permit is needed.

You’d be mad to do it without a professional and all up a simple second dwelling/sub-divide costs about $15,000 and about a year to do.

Profile photo of AuzzieLadAuzzieLad
    Participant
    @auzzielad

Chris,

Are you talking about knock down rebuild or big wall in the middle of current house and making semi’s?