All Topics / Help Needed! / CONFUSED AND FRUSTRATED

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of ss2306ss2306
    @ss2306

I am just starting out and am yet to acquire my first property. Had one but lost it due to owners pulling out at last minute.

I understand 11 sec solution really doesn’t exist in this market cycle but understand other possibilities such as renovation, subdivision and so forth. Have looked all over Aussie.

Have read numerous books and mags. Stumbling and scared on where to start.

eg Frankston – am from NSW with a hubby and 3 young children. How do I purchase there without knowing the good/bad areas? Could do a day trip but would that be enough time?

Have bought and used Steve’s investment detective but all figures are coming back as minuses.

Houses versus units – units look good until you factor in body corp fees. House just not cutting the mustard.

Am desperate to get started. Please help by giving me some direction.

Any comments or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of crjcrj
    Participant
    @crj

Don’t panic. In some of the towns I’m looking at prices are falling, not increasing.

I’d suggest that you work out what your strategy is:

1. Is it +cf or are you looking at -ve gearing where capital growth might occur. This will help you narrow down where you’re looking.
    2. Do you have the time/skills for renovation, is cordinating renovation from a distance going to be a problem?
    3. Are you going to need a managing agent? Some small towns don’t have them.

Don’t do something that’s too far out of your comfort level the first time. Even around yiur own area, familiarity with its prices, future development and employment might give you some good opportunities for early buys.

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi ss2306,

Okay first things first….take a deep breath, count to ten, and slowly release…….[biggrin]
    Better??? [blink]