All Topics / Value Adding / developers start

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 24 total)
  • Profile photo of sansue6sansue6
    @sansue6

Hi I am just starting to get into a new project. I am in the process of buying some land to then develp some unit on it and sell.
    However I am very new at this and need help in how do we come up with a profit margin and how do I know if the contractor/arch is giving me numbers that are fair as well as making a contract that is good for both parties/or all parties involved.[blink] Any help would be appreciated as well as any direction

Profile photo of Alistair PerryAlistair Perry
    Participant
    @aperry

Sansue,

From what I understand most developers look at a profit margin of 25% plus. You can get a quantity surveyor to estimate building costs.

I would also like to add that if you have to ask these questions you should seriously reconsider if developing is a good option for you at this stage. A lot of novice developers lose money.

Regards
    Alistair

Profile photo of sansue6sansue6
    @sansue6

Alistair…Thank you for your help…..I know its crazy for me to try this but I have to start somewhere and I know I will have many mistakes that will cost us because I am not alone…But I really want to learn!!!! Do you have any suggestions on books or workshops I can do to learn……or any great advice on how to dodge as many mistakes as possible? thanks crazy

Profile photo of byronent_2byronent_2
    Participant
    @byronent_2

I do this and I recommend the following.

Whoever you use, contractor/arch get what they are suggesting it and take it to your local estate agents. They will tell you what they think they can get for what you are proposing to build. Don’t speak to one.

You will soon learn if your project is viable.

Another good point in my opinion is finding out what the land alone would be worth.