All Topics / Help Needed! / $60 000 / Realistic goals

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of bert123bert123
    Participant
    @bert123

Gday[cap]

I am convinced property investing is the way to go

I have read quite a bit of the property investing books around, however, I would like some advice on strategy/goals. How many properties should I aim for over the next few years.

I have managed to save $60K and I earn about $900 a fortnight.

What would you do if you were in my position starting off. I’m keen to get started.

B

Profile photo of simondemasimondema
    Participant
    @simondema

Hi Bert
    I am still very new at this game, but what I have learnt so far is before I part with my hard earned money, do a lot of research. I have the money to buy some investment properties now, but I just don’t feel confident enough. I am using the internet to look at different areas, e-mailing real estate agent for info and checking out the demographics of areas. Also reading this site has been extremely useful. There are so many people on this forum with fantastic ideas.
    Read, learn then spend.

Simon

Profile photo of bert123bert123
    Participant
    @bert123
    Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi bert

If i was in your situation then i’d keep an eye out for fixer uppers, look for a property that you can add a lot of value to by giving it a coat of paint and some new floor covering. Try to find something that is structurally good but cosmetically poor.