All Topics / General Property / Non Residential Zoning

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of lukebe2lukebe2
    @lukebe2

Hi – just curious to find out what others have to say about this. I have seen some non residential zoning land for about $35-40K right on the water (lake) in NSW.
    I know I have to find out the expected date this land will be available for residential dwellings but to me for this price (can nearly pay for it out of my savings) it could be worthwhile getting one and letting it sit there for say 15 years.
    I can’t do anything with the land at the moment though.

I’m a beginner to investing and although it will not give me positive cashflow at least I can afford this one :)

Thankyou and Merry Christmas,
    Luke

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

If you can afford that one, you can afford a residential property worth a lot more if you borrow. The problem with land zonings is that may never change.

I bought a parcel of land when I was 18 in Erowal Bay – Jervis Bay (I am 33 now) and a few months later the land was zoned as National Park after Greenpeace got in to protect some crappy flowers that grow like weeds and no-one knows about. Mind you, the area was already cleared of trees and roads etc were put in.

We can put a fence around the block and put a tent or caravan on the land but cannot build. We still have to pay rates each year because the valuer-general values the land. Go figure!!!

The valuer-eneral values the property at $8,000 in it’s current state. If zoned residential, this lot will be instantly worth between 600-700k. I can’t see this happening any time soon but it is nice to dream.

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser

0414 347 771
    [email protected]
    http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

FREE Finance-Related Newsletter – Click Here

Comments made are of a general nature and should not be construed as individual advice.
    © 2004 Mortgage Packaging Pty Ltd