All Topics / Overseas Deals / BOUGHT 2 x NZ PROPERTY – WHAT NEXT

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)
  • Profile photo of dangermouse99dangermouse99
    Participant
    @dangermouse99

I have just taken a huge step and bought 2 IP in NZ one bult in 70’s and other built b4 1914, they settle this week and org tennents etc, but need at advice as im new to this.
    They will yield somewhere between 11-14% I put 20% deposit down, so now i need to know what i should I do with the income, one is LOC and the other is fixed, all the income will go into LOC, i keep hearing about quantity surveyor’s, should i employ one, what should I do??? I plan to spend about $NZ3,500 just to tidy up both places on settlement, is this tax deductible???? Should i use spare rental income to periodically renovate/repair properties?? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, ive been thrown inat the deep and and m learning very quickly

Profile photo of GramyreGramyre
    @gramyre

Dangermouse by name, dangermouse by nature it seems. I hope people here can help you with your questions. I’ll be looking on in interest as part of my preperations for my NZ trip. Though I think I’ll be asking the questions before I go [lmao]

I know I can, I know I can

Profile photo of agileagile
    Participant
    @agile

Dangermouse:

Would you be able to supply more info on the properties in NZ?

1. Did you buy sight unseen?
    2. Is your gross return worked out: (52*rent per week) / Purchase price or are you calculating your yeild some other way?
    3. What areas in NZ did you buy in (if you feel comfortable sharing)?
    4. Not sure why you would need a surveyer at this stage unless maybe you were planning on subdividing your land. Maybe more experienced NZ investors can help you more on this one.
    5. Have you sourced the finance through an Australian LOC and only using this? Ie no NZ loans. If this is the case you will need to do regular foreign exchanges from NZ to Australia.

Regards,