All Topics / Help Needed! / My Strategy…..Comments appreciated.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of eezyeezy
    @eezy

Hi all….

I am just starting out and would love some feedback.

I have two strategies which i plan to implement.

The first is in partnership with my parents. Our plan is to buy/renovate/increase the rent to achieve CF+, and use equity to finance the next investment. Our objective is to attain 20 properties in 10 years. We will be putting aside 5K each per year to cover any unexpected shortfalls. I know people advise not to go into business with family, but its not an issue. We have already bought our first property and are planning the second in the coming months.

My second strategy is one I am currently planning. As home prices are insanely high where i live (Port Macquarie NSW), I would like to buy unrenovated properties (units to start with), live in them for 6 months while i renovate, and then sell, hopefully gaining $20,000 after all costs. As i understand it i should avoid capital gains tax, yes?

Is it advisable to use the entire profits to fund the next property?, as there will probably be money left over each time i buy (after all costs), or should i invest the surplus money into another investment? eg shares, super, managed fund.

All comments welcome…

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

hi eezy

i think you plans look good.

i’m with you the family thing shouldn’t be seen as a negative.

with the second plan , if you can make 20k profit i’d say put it back into your property investing. Shares are at record highs, super you can’t touch till your Old, and managed funds, well if you want shares do it yourself.

all the best
    regards westan

I live in New Zealand and for a fee find cash positive deals there, email me at [email protected] to join our database

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi eezy

sorry some thing that you may not have factored in.