All Topics / Help Needed! / 18 years old and want to be a property investor!!!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of NZ-LEARNERNZ-LEARNER
    @nz-learner

Hi my name is Regan I’m from Invercargill, New Zealand and i am very interested in property investing. I am 18 years old and i am an apprentice builder. I have about $10,000 saved up for my first IP deposit> I was just wondering if anyone had any advice, tips or thoughts of what thay would do if they were in my situation??? I am very keen to get into this game seriously and make a living of it some day. I have been doing a lot of reading and researching and i think i am ready to begin!!! I am very grateful for anything anyone has to offer.
    Thanks for your time REGAN

Profile photo of williwilli
    Participant
    @willi

Congrats Regan – You are in a great position for your age.

My thoughts would be:
    1. Find somewhere close to you to invest so you can ‘keep an eye on it’(New Zealand is great for +CF at the moment)
    2. Do the numbers – basically look at as many places you can find and do the numbers of each.

Its not a scary as you might think. If you find a place, post the numbers (price/rental level/rates etc) on the forum and let members respond to that…

Best of Luck

Willi

…Beware of the dreamtakers…

Profile photo of MiniMogulMiniMogul
    Participant
    @minimogul

Good on you! I just heard today from a local that Kiwibank are doing 90 percent finance loans for owner-occupiers. That was in a different town but perhaps it’s the same for Invercargill. Which means you could purchase for up to 100k. Luckily you live in a place with loads of opportunities. also I would definitely hook up with Westan. Perhaps you could even hang out and pick his brain in return for giving him a hand with something. Make up your own rules!