All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice on Melb suburbs on the go

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of FerrisFerris
    @ferris

Hi all,
    I am looking to buy a house in Melb to live in for a couple of years (FHOG) while doing it up before selling it (perhaps subdividing at same time). My question is who knows what suburbs (eastern Melb) are likely to kick more than others, or alternatively where I might be able to do some research.
    I have been renting in Camberwell for many years and have grow attached to this area, but $$$. Nearby would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance…

Profile photo of aussierogueaussierogue
    Participant
    @aussierogue

g’day – whats your budget???

Profile photo of FerrisFerris
    @ferris

Sorry – did not put budget in.
    Hoping to spend no more than $400k. The less the better actually.

Profile photo of kay henrykay henry
    @kay-henry

Ferris,

This article “names names”. I think though, that suburbs that have “lost value” can be the ones to look at. If you are looking at suburbs that have increased value, then you’ll be paying premium.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5478,10294132%255E2862,00.html

kay henry

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi Ferris,

Welcome to the forum!!!

There are many areas in Melbourne that for years have been undervalued, and as such appeal to FHO buyers such as yourself. However there aren’t too many eastern suburb areas that haven’t already had some level of good CG. Those in the proximity to Camberwell (as you so rightly noted) are very costly however they not impossible to acquire, with some in the $350+ (excl. stamp duty, legals, or taking into account your FHOG). It really is a matter of researching the areas and property types right for you.