All Topics / Help Needed! / Subletting

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of calypsocalypso
    Participant
    @calypso

I am a 1st year uni student, wishing to sublet properties close to uni without living in it myself, with the aim of making a small profit each week through a difference in excess rents received, and the rent i have to pay to the landlord myself.

does anyone have any advice as to how i could go about doing it? such as advertising for share accommodation or how to try to get people to pre-apply before i rent a place etc.

Cheers

Profile photo of melbearmelbear
    @melbear

Put signs up at Uni – talk to the accomodation people, the students help office (or whatever it’s called) etc. etc.

Might be wise to secure a place first, and then advertise for students – as long as the demand is there, and it’s a good place etc.

Do a search for previous posts, there’s a few people on here who do the same sort of thing.

Cheers
    Mel

Profile photo of calypsocalypso
    Participant
    @calypso

thanks for the reply mel. i’ve actually got 2 students lined up after placing adverts in uni yesterday, but i’m a bit stuck as to what to do at the moment. i’ve talked to a few real-estate agents, and they don’t seem to like the idea.

sigh

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Calypso,

Be aware that the name on the lease (yours) is liable for any debts and expenses incurred – as such there are some ‘legal’ type issues that will need to be addressed in order that your interests are also protected.

The presence of the third party (you) is the reason behind the agents being a little reluctant to enter into such an arrangement on behalf of the landlord.

A question – why would a student pay a higher rent than the market rate if they sub-let from you?

Derek
    [email protected]

Property Investment Support Available. Ongoing and never stopping. PM welcome.

Profile photo of AceyduceyAceyducey
    Participant
    @aceyducey