All Topics / Help Needed! / RE: stay or downsize?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of want2brichwant2brich
    @want2brich

hi guys, i’m a newbie although i have been following this forum for some time but never have the encouragement to post anything. But now it is the time to get some help! My dilema is should we stay in the house we have for 4 years or downsize to a smallier house which we don’t need to get the mortgage and have some cash on hand for investment. Before you can give me your valuable advices i’d to provide you some background of our current situation:
    1)Our present house is valued at $540,000-560,000 which we pay $670/m for $115,000 mortgage and we estimate to pay off the loan in 5 years.
    2)This is lovely house which we have partially renovated with landscape garden just done few months ago, it is also situated in a good suburb (eastern Melb)which i think the value of the house will be still going up after few years.
    3) However, with only my husband, me and 3 dogs this is house is far too big for us (4b+1study+2living+2dining+3bathrooms)and we thougt about downsizing to a smallier house.
    3)We found a nice place next to our suburb with 3k more travelling to city and as the freeway is going through in the next 2 years we assume the house value in this area will go up as well. We want to offer the vendor $325,000 for it. So by the end we will pay off the house and leave some cash to do various investment.
    4)Another thing to consider is i am going to quit my job so i can focus on investing. Our finance is on good shape w/no other debts and about 20k in the bank. My husband’s gross income is about $90K/year.
    My question is is it worthwhile to go through all the trouble moving house or is it better to hold on to the house we have for 5 more years and try to use our saving to do the investing?