All Topics / General Property / Ideas on IP your thoughts

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of darlendarlen
    @darlen

Newbie here seeking help
    Living in Lismore currently brought a house two years ago for 90k and renovated. The bank now values it at 205k (worth more). Repayments to the bank are 140 p/w now renting for 220 p/w. brought and now living in IP with 5 bedrooms with flat under house (need to tidy it up) and was thinking of renting it out to uni students five minute walk from Southern Cross University when I move out and buy another IP. The IP cost 225k and the repayments to the bank are 370 pw it would rent for 500 p/w being conservative wondering what the pros and cons are in renting to uni students, and any ideas to make IP more appealing than other properties to students in the area. P/s has swimming pool what are your thoughts on that. thanks

Profile photo of KevmanKevman
    @kevman

Just a couple of questions

Would you be renting this out on a room by room basis or a student holding the tenancy agreement? If on a room by room basis you may need to increase the rent to cover utilities.

One option to make it more appealing is to add cable internet to each room. Set it up on a unlimited download plan and include that price in the rent. An IP investor has done that with a similar style house in my area and doesn’t have any shortage of tenants. Students love “free” high speed internet connection.[thumbsupanim]

Gardening costs could also be included into the rent – either you or someone else does it. Students aren’t into gardening much.

One con with student accom is that the end of year break is quite long and many go home. One option for keeping tenants coming back is to offer half rent for that end of year break to save them having to move their stuff back home and then looking for a new place. Another IP investor does that. Better to get 50% of something than 100% of nothing.