All Topics / General Property / What should I do now?? Sell or hold

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of rebecca2rebecca2
    @rebecca2

If anyone could help me with advice I would greatly appreciate it.

5 weeks ago I purchased a property for $250,000. I have thrown $30,000 in Renovating it to make it more special. Whoops! I purchased in my own name. [withstupid]
    I’m a newbie and didn’t know about the use of structure then. I purchased this property in a little slump and the vendors knocked 40,000 off their original asking price.[thumbsupanim]
    (I’m going up to the next reno kings workshop and wanted to do one first so I learn more on the day)
    I hope to be able to put this home back on the market for $350,000 and make a profit. I know about the capital gains, stamp duty and legal fees (now[blush2]someone told me the US rules and I believed them) and I have done some figures but wondered if anyone else has some knowlege to help me. Should I hold for 12months or just sell. If I rent it out it would be very definatley cashflow negative. Don’t know what else I need to tell you.

Regards
    Rebecca2

Beck.
    I’m doing it. You learn faster when you do it.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Well you need to work out the advantage of the 50% CGT reduction after 12 months and determine which is better for you.

If it is funds you need then you can use the equity in that property to buy the next one if you need to. No need to sell.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Rebecca,

Really you are the only one that can answer the question but there are some issues you will need to consider.