All Topics / Help Needed! / Help required

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of MartineMartine
    Participant
    @martine

Hi everyone,
    As i am still starting out in the property investing world, I would appreciate some advise. I have land which has tripled in value over 12 months, I used the equity from this land to purchase another block of land close to the beach in a new estate and am planning to build on it then rent it out. My problem is my bank advised me to refinance the first block to pay for the second block, is this the usual way of doing it. By building on the second block I would increase my equity again by $100,000 which I was hoping to use to obtain more property, but if I need to refinance again then doesn’t this increase my loan? How do I obtain separate loans for each property but using the equity to buy the others? I have read many books and researched articles, spoke to the loan managers, but I don’t seem to get the answers I am looking for, all they say is I must used the property as security for the next and refinance?
    I am really confused and I am not sure if I am on the right track after all, can some one please set me straight.
    Thanks Martine[blink]

Profile photo of geogeo
    @geo

Hi Martine,

congratulations on getting a great deal trippling in value in just 3 months. Well Done!

I would try to keep all loans under one and organising it to have them at the same interest rate. You can do this by having all your loans added to the first. Yes – when you borrow more, you increase your loan – it’s simple ‘physics’.

I also wouldn’t overburden myself by keeping on borrowing more and more equity to buy more property as you said you’re just

‘starting out’