All Topics / Help Needed! / Please help with my questions !!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of dereksamdereksam
    @dereksam

Hi There All

I’m a 30 year old teacher and am finally getting off my butt and starting to think about buying some property. I am still renting and am looking at buying an investment property. I have an endless list of questions that I am hoping you guys might be able to help me with over time. So I’ll throw a few questions at you and see what advice you can offer. I am open to conflicting views so I have different alternatives to consider .. Anyhow, here goes …

(1). Loans – I have spoken to a few banks and mortgage brokers .. they have come up with rates in the vicinity of 6.5% … however, a work colleague put me onto homepath.com.au which is linked in someway to the commonwealth bank .. they offer 6.15% p.a. variable … Does anyone know anything about homepath and whether i should have any reservations (seems too good to be true if you know what i mean)

(2). Another issue burning in my head at the moment … I currently have $8000 saved up .. I am looking at buying a house in the $200K – $250K range … Clearly this is not enough to start me on my way yet … I have read many things on the forums here .. a lot of people suggest saving a minimum of 20% to avoid mortgage insurance … Is it perhaps better to jump into the market sooner or is it really that good an idea to wait for 3 years until i have $40 000 (though by that time .. that may only form 5% of the propertys values) … The other alternative I have is that a broker suggested that I could use my parent’s home as equity and this would eliminate the need to pay Mortgage insurance .. can anyone confirm this for me … also will my parents names be part owners of the property or not ???