All Topics / Help Needed! / Negative Gearing Formula?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of peninsulainvestorpeninsulainvestor
    @peninsulainvestor

Hi All,

This is my first time to pu tin a posting.

I am currently doing my best to look around for positive geared propery at the moment but having a lot of trouble finsing any. I have found some around regional areas but would like to try and find someting a bit closer to hom to start off with. I have been finding a few properties lately which would mean I would only have to contribute around $3K a year and I beleive this neagtively geared property would not be as bad as a lot of them out there where you need to hand out a lot more money.

However my question is….

Is there a model to work off that you can work out what the ideal property price and rental income is for your wage to get the best tax benefits?

I’m finding it so hard at the moment to find a postive cash flow property, and while I start to get back into IP again I would be happy to start with negative gearing while I get settled.

Can anyone help me?

Cheers

peninsulainvestor

Profile photo of woodsmanwoodsman
    @woodsman

Not aware of any model/formula etc, however you can try this and see how you go.

1. Go to http://www.ato.gov.au/scripts/taxcalc/calc_standard_hire.asp
    This allows you to calculate your tax payable based on the income you nominate for a given time period (ie weekly, fortnightly, monthly or quarterly)

2. Gross it up to an annualised figure ie if your tac bill is $1k per month, multiply it by 12.

3. Do 1 & 2 again, after you have determined what your deductions are. Therefore your taxable income (inclusive of deductions)

4. Minus the results you get in 3 from 2 and you have the reduction in tax for the year.