All Topics / General Property / CGT with IP to PPOR

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of YoungInvestorYoungInvestor
    Participant
    @younginvestor

Hey guys,

I was just thinking about a few things with regards to converting an IP to PPOR to avoid CGT.

1. How long do you have to live in a place after having it as an IP before you can call it your PPOR?

2. If you lived there for this specified time and then sold the place claiming that it’s your PPOR, do you get a full CGT exemption? Might you get a partial exemption based on how long you rented it out versus how long you have had it as PPOR?

Simple questions I know, but im just starting out [:I] If they have been answered somewhere else, please just say so and i’ll go searching.

Thanks in advance!
    Steve

ps: I’m in melb.

“Knowledge is Power”

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

I don’t believe there is a timeframe to establish it as a PPOR.

I you rent it then move in the CGT is proportional ie if you own it for 5 years and rented it for the first two then you will pay 40% of the CGT (halved again to 20% – 12 mth rule).

if this is your plan then consider moving in to establish it as your PPOR before you rent it. Then you get up to 6 consecutive years rental without losing the CGT exemption.

Best to get professional advice!

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of YoungInvestorYoungInvestor
    Participant
    @younginvestor

Thanks for the reply Simon.

With the second part of your response…

quote:

if this is your plan then consider moving in to establish it as your PPOR before you rent it. Then you get up to 6 consecutive years rental without losing the CGT exemption.