All Topics / General Property / +ve cashflow in brissy cbd???

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of blowieblowie
    Participant
    @blowie

I am a uni student who has been interested in the property market for some time now, and instead of paying another year of rent in Brisbane, I hope to be able to get a small loan ($70k – $90k), use my savings and fhog and begin to build a portfolio. I aim to live in the unit I buy and avoid paying rent for a year, at the end of which I will rent out and gear for +ve cashflow, as this is an area I am limited in at present. I intend to do the same the following year, whilst trying to capitalise on any opportunities I can materialise. My goal (at the least) is to own five properties by the time I finish uni (2years).

There are several small studio units in Brisbane CBD. They are selling for anywhere between $80k – $125k, for more or less exactly the same thing, in the same unit block. I’ve seen one for $90k on the 22nd floor with a small balcony and river views. The real estate ads suggest rental returns of between $200pw and $250pw, thus passing the 11 sec test. I am aware there will be quite high b.corp fees.

On the surface this seems like a good deal, but if this is the case then why are they not being snapped up??? Is there something I’m missing???

Alternativly, I am also looking at a larger unit a little out of the city (5km) in the same price range which needs renovating. I fancy myself as a bit of a handy man, with a number of renovations to the ol’ family home under my belt. The expected rental return will be lower but I am told there will be much more capital appreciation here than the units in the CBD.

Any opinions, thoughts or advice will be greatly appreciated, as I have been told conflicting views of how to start, where to start, and why I shouldn’t start (and so on). But hey, where theres a will theres a way. Just looking for a bit of a street sign…