All Topics / Hotch Potch / I’m young and need some help please…

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of MalcolmMalcolm
    @malcolm

Hi,

My name is Malcolm, I’m 25, and I am no expert on property investing, but hungry to learn.

I read all the articles and found them very informative.

Let me give it to you straight. Finally after spending all my life studying, I’m finally working, and have the ambition to learn and read as much as I can about investing and basically ‘making money’. :)

I would love your advice on what I should do for my 1st investment.

At the moment, my girl friend and I are saving $1100 per/fortnight, and have around the $20,000 mark now.
    I’ve read that you should save %20 more than what u borrow to lower mortgage cost etc..

What should I do?
    Would you suggest negative gearing.. lets say…. a unit in QLD between $90 – 120,00 as the 1st ever investment? or what would you recommend?
    I’m open to all possibilities…

Kind Regards,

Malcolm.

Profile photo of xyzzyxyzzy
    Participant
    @xyzzy

To quote directly from ‘Todays Tip”

“Be known as much for the deals you leave behind as the ones that you purchase.

“Not all property deals are equal, and the deals that you leave behind are signs of success too.

“Buying property for the sake of doing so is pointless.

“It’s better to own 1 property that makes money than to buy 150 that don’t.

“Being able to differentiate between a good deal and a bad deal is essential for your long-term success.

“Ignorance in property investing often leads to expensive blunders. Protect yourself by discovering what due diligence really means and how you can use it to ensure you don’t end up with a property dud.”

A good start is with reading the book from 0 to 135 properties etc.,

Profile photo of peterppeterp
    @peterp

Hi Malcolm – that $1100/fortnight is a great result and probably puts you in the top few percent of the population when it comes to saving [:)]