All Topics / General Property / renovate / build units

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of rexgalrexgal
    @rexgal

Hi everyone.

I just put a deposit on a property that is within 5 mins of a large regional Vic city. The holding bond expires on Mon 20th Oct.

The house and the land of 1100 sq.m is $160,000. A potential developer would be able to put 3 or 4 units with 2 or 3 bed rooms. And the building cost of each would be about $120,000. The sale price of a similar unit in the area is $200,000. The rental income from the exisitng house in the property is $120 a week. Similar houses (this one needs some cosmetic work) in the street brings $140-150 a week.

This is my first attempt at property investing and I am interested to hear from anyone who is interested in purchasing this property or has any advice for me.[?] Is it not sensible to go ahead with this? Should I renovate before renting out? Etc Thanks.

Profile photo of ErikaErika
    @erika

Hi Rexgal
    As a newbie I think now is a good time to let you know that you will not receive advice on whether you should buy a specific property or not.Only you know if this fits your investment criteria. Maybe the first place to start is to look at what you want from property investing, do you want to be a developer and onsell when complete or a renovator or like many on this forum buy property for cashflow.
    Is this a good investment only you can answer that

Erika

Profile photo of rexgalrexgal
    @rexgal

quote:

Hi Rexgal
    As a newbie I think now is a good time to let you know that you will not receive advice on whether you should buy a specific property or not.Only you know if this fits your investment criteria. Maybe the first place to start is to look at what you want from property investing, do you want to be a developer and onsell when complete or a renovator or like many on this forum buy property for cashflow.
    Is this a good investment only you can answer that

Erika