All Topics / General Property / Commercial Property Differences

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of CaptainMarkCaptainMark
    Participant
    @captainmark

Hi all,

Straight to the point…
    I’ve realised in the last few weeks that it’s actually fairly difficult to find a ‘commercial’ property that would end up being cashflow NEGATIVE in my area (SE QLD).

My question to anyone with commercial property experience (that includes you Steve, I know you’re reading this… [:P] ) is – what are the differences, if any, that we must consider when sizing up a potential commercial property rather than residential?

I believe I have most of the basics covered (I’ve got a lot of good agents starting to contact ME now, and showing me the ropes), I’m basically after any potential traps and/or unusual ‘things’ that commercial property investing may have where residential doesn’t.

Cheers,
    Mark

Profile photo of TamLuuTamLuu
    @tamluu

im a beginner but like to comment…
    traps may include long term vacancies once the lease contract expires for the existing tenant.
    Tenants not being able to paying on time.

Cheers

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

I think that Wright Books put out a book about buying commercial property recently. I heard it was quite good too.

After some research at Wright Books…

quote:

How Investing in Commercial Property Really Works
    By Martin Roth
    0 701638087 Price: $34.95