All Topics / The Treasure Chest / renting out your previous PPOR

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of kkowalskkkowalsk
    @kkowalsk

Hi all,

I’m a newbie, and have a simple question. My partner and I just bought a house with an aim to live there for 4-5yrs, then move on to a better place whilst retaining the first property.

Is it possible to convert the first property into a rental (and claim the various deductions) like you can elsewhere in the world, or do I have to sell it and buy something else? A friend told me NO deductions are permitted on a rental that was my PPOR….

Profile photo of AdministratorAdministrator
    Keymaster
    @piadmin

Hi KK, your friend is so wrong. Your PPoR can certainly be rented out after you convert it to an IP (and all expenses will be deductable). There are quite a few posts on this theme. Probably the most useful tip I could give you would be to preserve the principal of your loan while it’s your PPoR, by having an Interest Only loan together with an offset account. Do all your saving in the offset account, so that your full loan principal is retained when it becomes tax deductible debt when the property becomes an IP. This is much better than ending up with a small loan for the first property, and then having to get another large non deductible loan for the new PPoR.
    Jim.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Doogs,

Hit the nail right on the head there my friend!

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Hunter
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of Keith1Keith1
    @keith1

Hi