Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of FishoholicFishoholic
    @fishoholic

Hello all,

I am relatively new to the property investing market and I have a few questions about equity that may seem a little laughable. I will give give you a little detail as to my current situation.

I currently own a house on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland which is totally unencumbered and located in walking distatance to the beach. The original purchase price was 160k in January 2002. I have had it valued recently, after some renovations, at 380k.

My fiancee and i have both moved back to Brisbane for work reasons. We live with my fiancees parents, hopefully for not to much longer, and want to buy something we can renovate and hold for a year or twon and then sell and move onto the next one. Whilst doing this we want to purcahce cash flow positive rental properties so I can stop working for someone else and work for myself, as I am a Carpenter & Joiner by trade and can do most of the work myself. We intened on renting the property on the coast out as it is in a high capital growth area and also wish to keep it for future holidays.

My fiancee is a professional (Audiologist) working two part time jobs earning approximately 50K per annum. I am currently employed full time as a customer service officer for a large hearing aid manufacturing company earning 38k per annum.

Finally, my question is, how do I release the equity in my house to purchase investment properties. Both my fiancee and I are having dificulties trying to get our heads around the entire equity concept. My understanding is that I approach a bank and they take 80% ownership over my property on the coast and I then put 304k in a line of credit. If this is the way it works is there intrest or any other fees accosiated with equity loans[?] Have I got this right or am I totally on the wrong path[?] Many thanks in advance for your kind responses.