All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Baby Investor

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of CaerylaCaeryla
    Participant
    @caeryla

Hi Peoples,

I’m a uni student on a limited income (i.e. Youth Allowance [:I]) whos become interested in property investment coz of mum. Has anyone some tips? I’ve heard of the First Home Buyer’s Grant, but would that apply to non-residential properties such as a vacant block? Is it possible joint ownership but with only one person eligible for the grant? If anyone could help me, it’d be greatly appreciated! [:D] Thanks!

Caeryla

Profile photo of walkernickwalkernick
    Participant
    @walkernick

Hi Caeryla,

I am also a Uni student who is starting a property portfolio.

quote:

I’ve heard of the First Home Buyer’s Grant, but would that apply to non-residential properties such as a vacant block?

The FHOG only applies to owner-occupiers. I have done a lot of research here and found the system to be quite unfair in that, if you go on the title of an investment property before you go on the title of your PPOR, you no longer qualify for the FHOG. Of course the best way to go about this is to not go on the title of the property via either your parents or a company/trust structure.

quote:

Has anyone some tips?

My advice, if you do not have the income (servicability) or savings (security) to get a loan yourself would be to set up some kind of investing partnership with your parents. This is what I’m doing – with dad as money partner and me as time partner. The income is split through a discretionary family trust. We have also decided that the best place to start is wraps because it requires low money down, has high returns and thus allows us to purchase multiple properties.

Feel free to email me at [email protected].

Cheers
    -Nick

Profile photo of davidfemiadavidfemia
    @davidfemia

Hello Caeryla,