All Topics / The Treasure Chest / relocating homes as ip’s

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of brett69brett69
    Participant
    @brett69

has anyone any experience of the ecconomics of relocating a house to vacant land purchased with the intention of investment property.it appears to me this could be an ecconomic idea considering cheap price of land in some regional towns and the fact you can get the houses from the city for free…you take away.very keen to hear what the forum thinks.

Profile photo of SooshieSooshie
    @sooshie

Hi,

I haven’t got experience myself, but a family member has done this before. The cost of transporting the home can be horrendous. Then you have to still get approval from Council and building report, then connection to utilities etc.. Now as I mentioned I have no experience, but after listening to someone relate their horror story of relocating houses, I think it might be easier to buy a kit house and do it that way..
    I regret that I can’t be of more help to you in this instance…
    Good luck with whatever you decide…
    Sooshie [:)]
    1 sleep to go..[:D]

“Giving is a Blessing, receiving is the bonus”

Profile photo of MiniMogulMiniMogul
    Participant
    @minimogul

I looked into it a while back because I was thinking about it – not only is relocating very expensive for what you get, but subdivision is no bagatelle either.

it was cheaper to just buy another property on a larger piece of land, and let it sit there (or fence it if tenants don’t want to mow, or lend to the neighbourhood teenager with pony, etc etc )

Here’s a chain of relocation house-yards in NZ where you can go and see a whole bunch of them in one place…

http://www.brittons.co.nz