All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Rental viability?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of Lizzie_2Lizzie_2
    @lizzie_2

Hello All,

I am a newbie to the PI game and am researching a property in an area that I do not know too much about. I have managed to find the easy information without too much trouble but I’m stuck with the question “is this area really a viable rental location?”
    Is asking the local agent for his/her opinion the only option? Is there some alternative mentod(s) of working this out? Some outside, unbiased way perhaps.

Your feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Lizzie

Profile photo of brentbrent
    Participant
    @brent

Hi Lizzie,

I was doing the same thing this weekend just past.

The way I did it was I went to real estate agents and asked them two questions. They were “How many rental properties do you manage?” and “Can I please grab a copy of your current rental list” (The please is very important)

What I was able to see from this information was the types of properties which rent well in the area. Older 1br and 2br units rented very poorly because there were 20 of them on the rental list, and the rental manager only looked after about 40 or so units all up.
    But, it looked like 3br properties rented well – there were 6 or so on the rental list, four of them were becoming vacant in the next month, two were recently vacated.

Something else you might think of doing is chatting to the locals. Start a conversation with someone, explain what you’re doing, ask if they’re renting or whether they own in the area, and chat to them about their experiences in finding a home.

I was chatting to two ladies for nearly two hours on saturday, about everything from the town industry, to which agents are the best, to property prices, to renting in the area – even which areas they wouldn’t walk through at night.