All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Creating a Company

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of Gatbe7Gatbe7
    @gatbe7

Dear All,

I am new to property investment but am looking to get into it in a big way. It is a simple question, but maybe not a simple answer. Should I set up a company before I start to buy property to rent, or is it easier to have it in my own name?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    [:)]

Profile photo of wilsonkaywilsonkay
    @wilsonkay

Hi,

You are right it is not necassarily a simple answer, but at least you are asking the right ones! :-)

If you were planning on only owning 1 or 2 PI’s then I would suggest it would not be worth your time setting up a company, as there are other substantial on-going and upfront costs involved.
    Depending on your marginal tax rate it may even be better from a tax point of view to hold it in your own name. However if it is higher than 30% then a company would be supperior (if you were going to buy more than one or two). I say 30% because this is the rate a company is taxed at.

If it was your plan to purchase heaps of Properties, then for best asset protection and tax minimisation (and a few other things such as borrowing power) then it would be best to setup a company / trust structure. BUT before you go down this track you must make sure you are 100% sure that you are in property for the long term, and that it is’nt just going to be a flash in the pan.

It comes back to what your gaols and apirations are, and what you are trying to achieve.

Tell us that and we might be able to provide a more specific answer.

Also note: I recommend you look at buying Steve’s latest product to do with asset protection etc called “Wealth Guardian” I think!! Steve should be able to fill you in though. I’d recommend it for anyone considering these types of issues.

Hope this helps,

Tim wilson.

“Poverty is not an option”

Profile photo of truebluetrueblue
    @trueblue