All Topics / The Treasure Chest / interest Only loan – fixed or var

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of fulloutfullout
    @fullout

Hi again everyone,

sorry i have many questions, because i am new to property investing. SO i need you guys to give me some enlightenment.

Ok, so i have decided to go for Interest Only loan, so do i go for Fixed Rate or Variable?
    The best one i can find is Variable @ 6.11%, and Fixed for 5 years for 6.45%. Only $400 application fee, no monthly fees.

Q1)Which sould i go for?

My homeloan broker suggest i gor Variable, since it is lower, and he said something about it is easier if i want to buy more properties in the near future and need some equity from this current one..(?) and if i Fixed the Rate then i cant “touch” the loan (as he puts it.).

Q2) Are there any indication that interest rates are going up within the few years soon?
    WHat are tghe pros and cons of Var and Fixed?

Pls enlighten! [|)]

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

quote:

sorry i have many questions, because i am new to property investing. SO i need you guys to give me some enlightenment.

He who asks no questions gets no answers!

quote:

Ok, so i have decided to go for Interest Only loan, so do i go for Fixed Rate or Variable?

What’s your intention with the property. If you see yourself selling within say 5 years then I’d stick with variable as the penalties for early payout will mean that the interest differential doesn’t matter.

Otherwise, more generally, to answer this question you need to make a call about what interest rates might do.

quote:

Q1)Which sould i go for?

Work out the impact on your bottom line profit and work out whether the risk is worth the reward.

quote:

…want to buy more properties in the near future and need some equity from this current one..(?)