All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Buy more investments or buy my own home??

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of AllanFCAllanFC
    Participant
    @allanfc

Hello,

I have been investing in realestate for about 1 1/2 years now using buy and hold strategy with 3 properties in my portfolio. I have been using the growing equity of each of my investments to buy more properties. My situation is that I still do not have my own home, that is I am still renting out.

Would it be wise to just keep buying investment properties which means holding off buying my own home for later or should I work towards acquiring my own home now?

Any advice on what options are available to me?

Kindest regards,
    Allan

Profile photo of PeterParkerPeterParker
    @peterparker

Allan, it depends on what you want and where you live. Four questions:

How important is having your own home that you can do as you like and no inspections?

How focussed are you on your financial goals, or do you have lifestyle goals as well?

How long do you intend to live in the one place?

Are you in an area where prices are high and yields are low? If so, stay renting. If not, the opportunity costs of buying (particularly at this time) could be high.

I personally went for renting + buying an IP rather than buying my own PPOR. Even the govt’s $7000 didn’t sway me. but your needs might be different.

Peter

Profile photo of AllanFCAllanFC
    Participant
    @allanfc

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the quick reply.

Well, having my own home is probably the second most important thing to me at this present time as my first priority is to acquire more investment properties to build my portfolio. however I would like to own a house to live in the very near future, let’s say 3 – 5 years time.

In regards to how long I intend to live in one place, well personally I dont mind moving from place to place, if I feel that there is an opportunity in another place, then I would go there in a heart beat.