All Topics / The Treasure Chest / LOC VS STAND ALONE FINANCE

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of MJKMJK
    @mjk

I have a line of credit loan which has 3 houses set up in sub accounts, but what worries me is having all my loans with the one bank and my place of residence in the security mix. Thinking long term ie.for my next purchases I was thinking of only taking the 20%deposit from the LOC and setting up the 80% as stand alone with another financial institution.Any ideas[8D]

Question is it wise to continually add property to the one LOC with your home in the security mix ?

Profile photo of allymanallyman
    Participant
    @allyman

MJKMJK

I am fairly new at this, but what I have gathered from the pro’s by visiting forums, is that is not advisable to cross collateralise if you can help it. I was advised to use my LOC for my PPOR for deposit only (+costs) and then take a separate stand alone mortgage. However, I don’t see that it has to be with another institution. Why complicate things, unless you can get a better deal elsewhere. Just a separate loan. I will split my LOC into a personal portion and an investment portion for tax purposes. I hope I have understood this correctly.

Anyone else with more experience?

Ally

Profile photo of MJKMJK
    @mjk

Ally,

Thanks for your reply. You have got my meaning.I suppose I could look at using the same institution. I did wonder if anyone else had a veiw on cross collateralisation ( if thats a word !)

MJK[^]

Profile photo of RodCRodC
    @rodc

It’s best to avoid cross collateralising as it should make it easier to sell or refinance as you’ll only have one property as security per loan. The only problem is that you can end up with lots of loans, but each property is effectively ‘stand-alone’.

Profile photo of TheBTheB
    @theb

Hi all