All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Country Development

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of AdministratorAdministrator
    Keymaster
    @piadmin

I have purchased a property within 90 minutes of Melbourne in a country town with a growing demand for small units. The property has plans and permits in place for eight units. My problem is working out the best way to submit a propasal for the finance. Any suggestions? I want to make the proposal as professional as possible to eliminate any question(for the bank) that this is going to be a viable proposition. I have thought of trying to market and attain contract sale notes on as many of the units as possible before building starts. I am new to property development and would appreciate any suggestions.

Cheers,
    Canuck

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

I don’t have much experience with getting developments financed from scratch.

However, some general advice is to approach the lender in advance and ask them what sort of information they require and then shape that into a professional submission.

Remember that a bank wants to eliminate risk, so from their perspective they will want to know what happens if you default. They wouldn’t want to be left with a partially completed site.

As such, finance for developments is usually offered on a progress payment basis depending on the % of completion, rather than 100% up front.

Accordingly, you need to specify how you require the payments and I’d imagine providing this request in some kind of budget form would be appropriate.

Remember that the best person to ask is the lender.

Regards,

Steve McKnight

Remember that success comes from doing things differently.

Steve McKnight | PropertyInvesting.com Pty Ltd | CEO
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com

Success comes from doing things differently

Profile photo of rossolotrossolot
    @rossolot

Hi Canuck