Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of imaceimace
    @imace

Gidday all,
    I am new to investing. I am interested in the buy and hold method. The accountants & advisers I have spoken to tell me to buy in my own name as company costs are too high. I have also read that a company is the way to go.

I’m a little lost. any tips from you gurus who are structured for now and the future would be appreciated immensly.

Thanks in anticipation
    Adrian
    [email protected] [:D]

Profile photo of BigAdsBigAds
    Participant
    @bigads

Hey Adrian,

Interesting question with the structuring!

Your accountant may be right in suggesting you put the property in your own name at this stage of your wrapping career, assuming you do not earn over $50K a year. If you do earn more than $50K a year, your accountant is probably trying to sell you on the benefits of -tve gearing.

Costs of having a company structure is about $1k setup (which is deductible over 5 years) and an annual fee of $200 to ASIC (plus annual accounting fees of course!). The benefit is that you can defer the tax paid on profits until you pay yourself a dividend. The disadvantage is that you cant offset any losses against you own name to reduce tax, however they can be carried fwd indefinitely to offset against future profits in the company.

Have you asked your accountant about a family trust? Relatively cheap to set one up (about $500 max) and no annual fees. Trusts just allow you to minimise your tax and are great if you have a partner and/or family [;)]. Trusts have the same issues as companies in that you have to carry fwd the losses and can’t offset them in your personal name.