Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of jphjph
    @jph

Hi my name is Jason and I have just subscribed to this website and this is my first post.
    I am a carpenter with 15 years experience.
    I am working for wages but I would like to go out on my own buying houses and renovating them and either selling them or renting them.
    As I am very new to this and don’t have a lot of knowledge I would appreciate any advice.
    A couple of questions.
    How do I go about getting financing for this ? Bank ? Finacial Broker? Mortgage Broker?
    And with the way the financing is structured can I do this full time ?
    My wife works full time as well.
    My wife and I have just bought our first house for 250k and we owe 237k .I have done some renovations to it already and have had a real estate agent value it at a little over 300k so can I use this equity to start out?
    As far as tax purposes what would be the best way? a company and incorporate it?
    Any help or advice would be great because as you can see, I am a novice at this.
    Sorry for the length of this post.
    Jason

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hello Jason,

Thanks for joinging the community and for making your post.

Let’s see if I can help you with your questions…

quote:

How do I go about getting financing for this ? Bank ? Finacial Broker? Mortgage Broker?

Since the deregulation of the banking industry here in Australia there has been a boom in the number of lenders and the products that they offer.

I believe that if you have an existing relationship with a lender then you should start there as a prior banking history doesn’t count for a lot, but it counts for something.

Next I’d suggest a mortgage broker – they are paid for getting the deal over the line and can help you fill in the forms to ensure you get the best chance of success.